A Wish Fulfilled….

All of us have wishes. Many of us have bucket lists. It would be an understatement to say that I have one. You could say that I have a ‘bucket folder’. I have some wishes that would qualify as silly and stupid, and some that people would find really sweet and others are, well, let me admit- very cliched. Laying dormant in this folder of cliched wishes is one that even I had almost forgotten, but of course, has always been throwing stones at me from my subconscious. Its that I want someone to remember me from their childhood and think of me very fondly and take pains to find me after being separated for many years. Its one of those things that you would see in a romcom or some movie that really bursts with cliches of friendships and soul mates and all that. You get my point.

You would have guessed by now that I can cross it off my ‘bucket folder’. Yes, it was fulfilled. Technically though, it wasn’t today. I just realized it today.

It so happens that about 2 months ago or so, one of my kindergarden friends sent me a facebook friend request. I hadn’t thought about him in…. forever. But here he was, a fully grown (i know i shouldn’t be stating the obvious. Forgive my indulgence) professional photographer, who spent more than half a night tracking me down to get in touch with me. We hardly have any common friends(i use the term hardly as i realized just recently that we did have 1 common friend) So it was quite a task for him. At that point of time, he just told that it was difficult for him to find me, and we exchanged a few messages and that was about it. Of late however, we started chatting a little and today he read one of my poems, and was apparently hit with a wave of nostalgia and he blurted out the memory that he had so fondly held in mind and for which he had wanted to meet me. His exact words were ‘that memory is at the pinnacle of sweet memories in my life’. So, I finally summoned the courage to actually call him up. You know how, when you don’t talk to someone for a long time, you’re scared to call and speak. That’s exactly what had happened to me. He then told me, very sweetly I must add, that it was his wish for both of us to surprise our kindergarden class teacher by standing in front of her together(she was and still is one of our most lovely, dear teachers).

I was so touched, so impressed and moved by his perseverance and detailed innocent recital of an old memory that even I had forgotten, that I just melted right there… I forgot that I had a lunch to cook, a daughter to tend to and a really messy house to clean(I am a bit OCD about cleanliness, so that really matters) and I just continued talking to him (for 5 mins until my daughter’s cries metaphorically shook me out of my reverie). After speaking to him, I actually felt….. nice…. warm and gooey inside….

A very dear wish had just been fulfilled. Someone actually spent the last 20 years or so thinking of me and went to a lot of trouble to get in touch with me and had a fond memory of me.

My day was done. I mattered. People like me for who I am, liked me even 20 years ago for who I was. I was made to feel special. Something I had not felt in a very long time. As the realization of all these things dawned on me, I could feel a smile spreading across my face and hear myself humming my favourite song. Again, something I hadn’t done in a very long time.

So, my message for today is- keep smiling and hoping people, you never know who lives because of that smile, and who remembers you for life for that one little thing you did so many years ago that you yourself have forgotten about it.

thebeanbagpoet

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Rohit Acharya says:

    visiting your kindergarten teacher is really an awesome idea 🙂
    A teachers happiness, when her forgotten student visits her, is inexplicable .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashuragav says:

      Hi rohit. Technically i haven’t forgotten her. I visit her every year. But yes, ur right. Its extremely satisfying.

      Like

  2. shalini says:

    Wow ka…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shalini says:

    Wow ka…… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Prasanna. J says:

    Awesome… i can understand… one feels really spl when someone remembers and gets n touch after so long.. its priceless.. njy !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

