Happy Woman’s Day…

Today being woman’s day, I had prepared thoroughly before writing this blog. I had thought of writing how we women strive through all our ordeals and shine despite them and how much we face in society and still prevail. How many women in many parts of the world are subjected to mental and physical torture and are still enslaved. How even the females in power positions are subjected to the demerits of a male chauvinistic society. How women everyday, everywhere are a subject of abuse and grow and shine and sparkle in spite of all these hurdles. How much of ourselves we chip off in our roles as daughter, wife, girlfriend, mother, sister, friend, aunt, grandmother, employee, boss and the sacrifices we make to get everything done in every role and keep everyone happy and a bunch of other clichéd (yet true; just because its clichéd,doesn’t make it any less true)stuff.

I had prepared to write on all of this. I  referred news articles and googled some of the females in power and what they had to say about their experiences.

But…. somehow… I dont have the heart to do it. It makes me feel like I am cheating.

In my life, as much as I have been subjected to the cruelty of males (and females too), there are also a handful of them who have helped me become who I am today. I am sure that’s true with many of us. We definitely have some of those special people who helped us chisel ourselves from a block of us+stuff thats not us.

So this post is dedicated to those people who helped us become ‘us’.

“Thanks to you, I became what I am, despite what I  was” is what I’d like to say to those who helped me in my journey of life, thus far.

To our family, biological and/or otherwise, who shook the despair off of us and brought new life, and stood by us through hail and snow to see us smile and help us out of any and all pickles no matter the time. And of course, who pointed out all our faults. (I suppose they get a high out of pointing our mistakes and kicking us down just for the fun of it)

image

To our friends, who were there no matter what, to help us up when we fell down, to laugh away our mistakes and shoulder our weepy heads, if not, definitely to wring parties out of us for every goddamned reason and mock the hell out of our slip ups.

image

To our spouses( if they deserve it), who bore with every mood swing, hormonal imbalance, high and low; who bore us when we ignored them or smothered them; who held up our hair while we puked into closets; who gave us opportunities to grow through the million silly things they did; who stayed by our bedside when we were sick and at times to annoy every single cell out of our bodies.

image

And most of all we need to appreciate every one of them for loving us ladies for who we are. For all the bickering and fighting and shouting in the world, it would still see us being there for each other.

image

Go on ladies. You can thump your chest or pat your backs because if you got these people who love you in your life, you must have done one hell of a job!! Kudos to you!!

Happy woman’s day ladies!!!

image

thebeanbagpoet

4 Comments Add yours

  1. RAMAN says:

    Ahhhh, beautiful article.. Still , I am in sleep mode so wont write a mindful comment.

    But i read it sincerely twice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sahana says:

    Loved reading it absolutely!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashuragav says:

      Thanku. M glad you liked it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

